Appalachian Region

Getting to Know Appalachia


Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, Virginia
Courtesy Virginia Tourism Corporation

Appalachia, as defined by Congress, includes nearly 25 million people in 420 counties spread across parts of Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and all of West Virginia.

Click here to visit the ARC’s web site at



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This